The Best and Worst of 2016

0e742a03a6f612248d58431e7e082f8e

2016 was full of some emotional moments and that doesn’t exclude books. Today I will be sharing with you some of the best and worst books I read in 2016. Some of the books were not published in 2016 they were just books I got to the this year. Also the books are not in order of how much I liked or disliked them. * spoiler free*

Please remember that these are my opinions and I’m not trying to make anyone upset by them. Also you don’t have to take my word about these books. You can always read them for yourself and make your own opinion.

Best of 2016

1) Beautiful Funeral by Jamie McGuire

large

Beautiful funeral was an amazing read of 2016. I have never been much into romance novels before I read this amazing series. With every book you are never ready for the end, scared that it might not be an ending you wanted. With Beautiful Funeral I have to say I was very much satisfied with the ending of this book and this series.(Even though I did share a good tear or too).

2)Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

gemina-by-amie-kaufman-and-jay-kristoff1

This was another one of my anticipated reads of 2016 after reading the first book Illuminae in the Spring.The one characteristic that makes this book and unique read is the writing style. This story is told through chat rooms, emails, and diary entries. Another great part of this book is that the amazing Legend author Marie Lu was the person behind the drawings in the book.

3) Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes

17342701

Is it a surprise that Morgan Rhodes made another mind blowing installment in her series? If you have not picked up this series yet, you are truly missing out. This is a series I’ve followed since the first book came out. If you feel like you are lacking in the fantasy department, this is the book for you.

4) Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

unnamed3

Was anyone really ready for what Sarah J. Maas to give us this book? Not only did she crush our hearts ,she also gave us some new ships to love. Empire of Storms had some over the top moments that really kept you on the edge of your seat, but doesn’t Sarah J. Maas always do that.

5) The Trial of Apollo by Rick Riordan

the_hidden_oracle

You can’t have a favorites list without putting uncle Rick in it. After not reading his work for awhile, I forgot how funny he is and how his characters (demigods or not) really pop off the page. If you miss some of the original gang then you will be happy to know some of them make a appearance.

Honorable Mention

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

 

At first this book had not really caught my attention. I put down the book more times then I could really count, but was I picked it up and kept reading, I couldn’t stop. Once you jump into it you really can’t jump out.

Worst books of 2016

1) An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

27774758

Now some of you will be pretty angry that I put this on my least favorites list (probably more then a few of you). Honestly I was surprised that I didn’t like it either. People raved about it for months including a close friend of mine who let me read her copy, but it was too hard for me to read it. I barely made it through the whole book.

2) Bleed by Laurie Faria Stolarz

 

This book truly had no plot. In the end nothing really happened that mattered. It didn’t really make sense either. It felt like the author wanted to make a book that had dark elements in it but didn’t know how. Honestly it never felt like the book was a good idea in the first place.

 

Thank you for reading my first blog post. Sorry If it wasn’t the best. I hope get the hang of this soon. Hope you all have a great year with even greater books.

Leave a Reply

